Networking Basics for beginner books.

DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I posted earlier trying to find out whether to go for the CCNA or Net+ as a total beginner. I couldnt decide and someone suggested that I read a networking basics book and then go for a CCNA. This appealed to me because I wanted to concentrate on Networking only for the time being and advance as quickly as possible. N+ is said to have old info and goes off the track sometimes so I wanted to skip it and go for the more prestigious and future friendly CCNA. I got myself some books. I have:
Networking for Dummies 7th Edition
CCNA for Dummies
CCNA study Guide 5th Edition by Todd Lammle

I also have Cisco Networking Academy Program CCNA 1-4.

Now what would you recommend me to start with?

Again, I am a total beginner to 'serious' networking.

Thank You

Comments

• supertechCETmasupertechCETma Member Posts: 377
    I personally think you are making a mistake by skipping the fundamentals and going for a vendor specific cert first but, hey, that's just my opinion.

Good luck with that. icon_cool.gif
    Electronic Technicians Association-International www.eta-i.org
    The Fiber Optic Association www.thefoa.org
    Home Acoustics Alliance® http://www.homeacoustics.net/
    Imaging Science Foundation http://www.imagingscience.com/
  • Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    I think you'll be alright. a lot of the basics are covered in CCNA 1 (the first class in the networking academy). I was bored through most of the first networking academy class. it was almost exactly the same as my network+ class, only less detailed and at some point we started talking cisco.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You are right, thats what I want to do. I want to study the fundementals of Neting first and then go for a proper CCNA in the summer.