Options

Thinking of starting my own computer repair business...

ZoomerZoomer Member Posts: 126
I was thinking of putting some ads in the paper or flyers on doors to see if people need help with their computers or home networks. Nothing too big, but just to make a little extra money on the side. Does anyone have any experience with doing something like this? Was the demand good? I've heard several people mention how places like Geek Squad have ripped them off charging too much to fix simple problems. I'm studying for my A+ and could use some hands on experience. Any suggestions or advice?

Comments

• Options
    MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you do your own computer work then you have to make sure that you file your taxes. Technically you are supposed to file taxes when 1099ing every 3 months to ensure the IRS gets paid. Also, they charge more in Social Security tax when doing work on your own.

Depending on what you make with your current job, you could have taxes up to 45% of the money you make.

You also need to know to make your own checking account and write business expenses out on taxes. There is quite a bit more to think about if you are wanting a small business rather than doing work on the side under the table.
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • Options
    Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    I used to have a business with one of my best friends.... We registered as an LLC and did our quarterly taxes and everything.

We ran into many problems so we ended up dissolving the business. Problem was that we didn't advertise that much, didn't make the time we needed to for our business (we both had full time jobs and full time school).

The other major problem we ran into was undercharging! We only charged $30 per hour. We were not really making that much money... Split between 2 guys it was $15 per hour.