Options

Management Career Route

MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
For quick background, I am currently a network administrator in a new state job. I was previously at system administrator for a cable company. I know/want to know Windows/Linux/Cisco.

I naturally think in a mangement style and think I would be best positions as a manager somewhere. Unfortuntely I am 22 and a LOT of people judge based on age. I missed out on a 36 dollar an hour job because they judged my age.

What technologies do you think eventually have a better chance to lead into management? Do you think you should only know Windows, know 2 technologies (anything specific?), or be very versatile like I am right now?
My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    Do you want to management computer systems and networks or groups of people? Two entirely different skill-sets needed for the two.
  • Options
    JDMurray wrote:
    Do you want to management computer systems and networks or groups of people? Two entirely different skill-sets needed for the two.

Like your normal System Administration Manager, I want to manage projects/data centers/people. Mostly I want to be basically hands off from the systems when I become a manager. I still may do some things to help out the people underneath me but for the most part I let my crew complete all the work. I'm just there to guide them, approve changes, and solve company wide issues.

You may learn something!
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    The reasons for promoting people into management vary greatly and depends on the culture of the organization. Do some research within your company and find out how other people were promoted to management positions, such as:

* Were they recognized for their organizational or project management skills?
    * Do they have a good knowledge of business operations?