Options

Preparing for A+

azurepancakeazurepancake Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Howdy,

I am a fresh graduate right out of high school and it's time for me to find a job. I've always wanted to land one in some type of computer/technical field. So I've came to the decision to take the A+ exam. But first! My whole knowledge of how the test works in the first place is quite blurry so naturally I have several questions..

First, from my knowledge there seems to be three different tests, each aimed at separate areas of occupation, the 220-602, 220-603 and the 220-604 as well as something called the "Essentials test" which is what I think is some kind of prerequisite to the A+ core exam?
And also from what I heard there is two parts of each test, Hardware and OS/Software. You need to pass both of these to become fully A+ certified correct?

I am very indecisive on which area I would like to take, 220-602, 220-603 or 220-604.

Second, I am trying to put together a study road map. I hear the "A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Sixth Edition (Mike Meyers)" is highly acclaimed and some people have even mentioned they passed the exam studying only out of this book! Although I don't think that to be a very wise decision. So my idea is to purchase this book, read it, write notes and do a little hands on work as well as doing extra research on-line so not all my knowledge is only coming from this book.

Basically I would just like to know if I am going on the right path or not.

I will greatly appreciate any constructive comments, tips or advice.

Thank you very much!

:D

Comments

• Options
    dabve3dabve3 Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Right now there are two versions of the A+ exam available. The 2003 version and the 2006 version. The 2003 version is being retired soon, it had two tests Hardware and OS. The 2006 version has the essentials test and then you must do one of the three elective tests to become A+ certified.