Is Network+ Neccesary?

StevenFL02StevenFL02 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I am new here and I am currently studying for my A+, which will be my first certification. I plan on eventually getting my CCNA & CCNP.

Would it be pointless to take the Network+ if I will be getting a CCNA?

By having a CCNA, does that make a Network+ reference on your resume not very valuable (or less valuable)?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Some people will say yes and some will say no. It is really up to you. Just keep in mind CCNA is only good for 3 years and Net+ is for life. Also, Net+ is a good foundation for CCNA but cost more to take. CCNA is more difficult which makes it hold more weight in the IT industry. But alot of employers ask to for Net+ and like to see someone with both A+/Net+. From what I have seen unless you already have IT experience it will be difficult to find a job configuring Cisco routers and switches with just a CCNA but of course there are always exceptions. I hope that helps. Good luck!
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    I don't think it is pointless.... It is a vendor neutral certification that is more focused on concepts rather than specific products and configurations.

However, it's value next to having a CCNA is minimal for sure. From what I recall of my CCNA classes, the material covered in the first semester pretty much covered everything I needed to know to pass the Network+ anyway.

I think that if you are unfamiliar with networking concepts or just starting out with networking than the Network+ is going to be more valuable to you.
  • blackmage439blackmage439 Member Posts: 163