Options

Monitoring

jlhctjlhct Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

Has anyone ever had a network monitoring job, where you are responsible for capturing & monitoring server & network alerts?

The job wouldn't involve actually fixing the problems initially, but just using the tools to keep track of everything.

I've never used any of these tools extensively. My background is in Desktop support/network admin and i'm considering this sort of position to maybe prepare me for a network engineer job.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    That's one small part of my job. I use different tools to monitor different devices and machines. For instance, I use GFI's Security Event Log Monitor (SELM) to keep track of important events on my servers - depending on the severity of the event I get an email alert or it just logs the event in own database (for archival purposes in case someone tries to cover something up by clearing the logs on the server). I also use IP Sentry to monitor the status of services running and making sure the servers and other network devices are online. Again, I get an email notification for important events. I have configured my firewall to send an email on critical events and errors. I have set up our AntiVirus programs to alert me via email as well. Finally, I have a script that runs from an off-site location that sends me an email once every hour at the top of the hour so I know we have outside email connectivity. If I don't get the test email at the top of the hour I know to check into things to see if something is up.