Options

I'm new to server 03

Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
so don't hurt me here... But, i have a domain name that i have not been using so i'm wondering a few things.. When i reset up my server, i want to play aroudn with some stuff... for example:

I'm in a class that covers objectives for server 2003 (70-290) and xp (70-270). when we install XP next class, could i possibly point the domain to m local server and join the domain over the internet?

Oh, and since i'm running DNS on my server, i could just use that DNS server for the domain? i know in a production envrioment you wouldn't want your dns, AD, HTTP, etc runnng all on one box, but would it work? :-p
i have a couple other ideas floating around so i'll post them once i put a little more thought into it.
Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well, you'd never want to join a domain over the internet anyways. You always want your domain in your Corporate Network behind firewalls that block LDAP ports and such. Of course there are exceptions such as having a second domain in your DMZ to control your DMZ machines that is separate from your corporate domain with confidential data. If you were to open up the appropriate ports such as 53, 389, etc., then you would be able to join the domain over the internet.