Options

CCNP Lab equipment - BSCI

larkspurlarkspur Member Posts: 235
I am working on BSCI. I have 3620 ( frame switch), 2620 and 2611 both spoke routers.

My questions is will this be enough equipment to use for the self study guide?

The book lists a gang of equipment and I don't know any place other than net acad that has those kind of resources.

So I figure I would use loopback and sub interfaces to add networks for routing labs.

make sense, any suggestions?
just trying to keep it all in perspective!

Comments

• Options
    GrymGrym Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    The books for BSCI I am using list 4 routers, 1 backbone and 3 for a pod, that way you can do areas and actually see how routes are handled and such.

Which should be enough given a high enough IOS version on all of them up until BGP, which I'm not to yet, but everything up to BGP has worked fine with 4 routers....
  • Options
    Paul#4Paul#4 Inactive Imported Users Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm studying for the BSCI right now and using only Dynamips.

I heard the Problem with Dynamips is some of the Multicasting doesn't work like it should and I'm not sure if you can simulate Multicast receivers using Dynamips on Windows.

Everything else works fine it seems for the BSCI.
    Routing protocols are the meat of BSCI so you could use a program like Dynamips and learn over 85% of the BSCI with success.
    Multicast would probably be the only thing giving people problems.

BCMSN is going to be the hardest exam for me because multilayer switching is not equipment I have access to at this time. I think I can pass the test, but I wish there was a way to get more hands on.

Good luck

:)
    Gimme gimme gimme
  • Options
    dtlokeedtlokee Member Posts: 2,378 ■■■■□□□□□□