Options

New to the board Looking for advice

Myrdyn98Myrdyn98 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,
New to the board and IT in general. I currently have no direct IT exp. I worked as a Ground Radio Tech in the Marines. I now work as Cable Installer so I do have some LAN and Wireless exp from installing and troubleshooting HSD. I have also been using and troubleshooting computers for about 14 years now (started at age 11 on an 8086). I have my A+ and Net+. I'm working on my MCSA:Security, MCSE:Security, and CCNA. I plan to have those completed by December of this year. I'm going the 70-270, 70-290, 70-291, 70-293, 70-294, 70-298, 70-299 Security+ route. I'm about to start my Job search shortly. I live in the Raleigh/Durham research triangle area of NC. I'm curious as to how marketable I am and are going to be after I finish in Dec and also what follow up cert would be good after my CCNA. I'm definately going Security in some form or function. Thinking about CCSP or going Associate SSCP (since I lack any experiance). Any advice is welcome. Just getting started in IT so just trying to make sure I'm headed in the right direction.
Thanks again.

P.S. The VD's are on top of the microwave.

Edit: To answer the Where you wanna end up ?

All I know is something Security that i like to do. Since I have no experiance I have no idea what that might be.

Comments

• Options
    SieSie Member Posts: 1,195
    Let me be the first to welcome to the family.

Any questions or problems you want answered dont be afraid to pipe up and we will do the best we can.

99% of the time theres someone here who knows the answer and if not knows where to find it.

You sound like you have made a good start and from what you have said are heading towards good choices.

I guess the question is: "Where do you want to end up?"

Enjoy your stay :D
    Foolproof systems don't take into account the ingenuity of fools
  • Options
    NinjaBoyNinjaBoy Member Posts: 968