Options

Not A Computer Science Major

StevenFL02StevenFL02 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I currently have a bachelor's degree in French. It wasn't originally my plan when I entered college, but it was something I enjoyed very much.

Anyways, I've decided to get into IT and I am currently in a 2 year Computer Engineering program (prepares for CCNA, A+, etc) at a local community college.

Anyways, I was wondering if having just a 2 year computer degree will really limit me in the future. I have a bachelor's degree, but obviously it is not in a technical discipline.

I plan on eventually getting my CCNA and hopefully CCNP, along with other certifications.

Right now, I currently hold an IT Support position.

Are there any of you out there who got your bachelor's degree in a non-technical discipline, but found good jobs in IT?

Thanks for any input.

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Depending on where you are, it probably won't be too much of a limitation for you. A lot of employers admit to simply "looking for a college-graduate", even in IT. The fact that you went through school and got your Bachelor's, then went back and got an Associate's in the specific field you'll be working in is probably going to look pretty good on your resume. One thing you should know, though, is that you'll be fighting hard for those job opportunities against guys who do have a Bachelor's or even a Master's in Computer Science or Information Systems. But, with both your rounded-out Bachelor's experience, which is what a lot of employers look for, your Associate's in computer engineering, and certifications to back you up, you should be able to get your foot in the door and begin working in IT sooner than later.