Vmware Quick Question

PdogPdog Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Lo Peeps,

Using VMware workstation 6,

I have two Windows Server 2003 R2's in a team both using a LAN Segment. Now I am studying for the 70-291 and using the MS Press Book. I am working my way through the DNS topics. I need computer 1 to have a Internet connection. I have added another Ethernet Adapter and configured it as bridged.

The Vm machine loads up and both network cards are connected. If I disbale the network card that is part of the Lan segment I can get out to the net. If both cards are enabled I cannot. I have tried bridging the connections but this doesn't work.

Any ideas?

I would also like to get this working as I believe this setup will eb useful for the Wsus topics later.

Comments

• jkstechjkstech Member Posts: 330
    I've done this with my vmlab, for a wsus server, I put one nic in the lan segment and 1 uses nat, i'm able to get out just fine

make sure your virtual adapter is present, this is how vmware interfaces with your system
    get back to studying!!!
  • PdogPdog Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for replying, its got a little complicated since my original post,

Ok

Computer 1
    1st NIC is in the LAN Segment IP is staticly assigned 192.168.0.10/24
    2nd NIC is Bridged. DHCP is enabled gettign 192.168.0.2 from my router

Computer 2
    NIC is the LAN Segment configured for DHCP and an Alternative Address of 192.168.0.20/24

When both NICS on Computer 1 are enabled I am unable to ping computer 2 and Computer 1 cannot ping Computer 1.

If I disable the 2nd NIC on computer 1 the ping request responds.

This is driving me nuts. The firewall is disabled on both PCs.

Thanks

Pdog
    try using NAT instead of bridging....that's what I do, my vmserver "shares" the nic card of my physical machine instead of getting it's own from the external network
    get back to studying!!!
  • PdogPdog Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Jksetch - Thank you, I can now go to bed.