Options

Need advice and assistance for techncial cover letter

GundamtdkGundamtdk Member Posts: 210
I need some assistance and advice with my cover letter.

I am having the following issues with my cover letter:

- The cover letter feels too long
- When I list the qualifications in the cover letter it reads like laundry list
- When I read the cover letter it feels there is no substance to it

<Date>

<Company Name>
<Company Address>

RE: <Company Position>

Dear Hiring Team Members:

I am a support technician with a proven track record of being dependable is the background I would bring to this position.
I have received awards for dependability (attendance), work quality, and top producer.

Briefly stated, here are some of the values I am bringing to <company Name>:

* I am a certified CompTIA A+ and Network+ technician
* In college and university, I have developed excellent analytical, critical thinking and technical skills
* MCSA/MCSE candidate
* I am a quick learner and I know how to research for solutions

Some highlights of my relevant qualifications and work experience:

* Providing solutions to hundreds of technical and non-technical users: investigating, troubleshooting, identifying alternative solutions (short term and long term) and resolving computer software and hardware problems
* Prioritizing support activities and ensuring service quality: by documenting, tracking and escalating issues
* Working independently, and collaborating in a team to analyze/design, and implement user requirements
* Communicating accurately and clearly to instruct computer users of various levels on how to resolve problems
* Technical expertise in:
-- Setting up/configuring/troubleshooting: applications, web applications (internet/intranet), PC, hardware, networks, printers, printer management, and peripherals
-- Microsoft (MS): MS Office suite, MS Outlook, MS Exchange 2003 and related software
-- Operating systems: DOS, Linux, Mac OS X, Unix and Windows NT