Options

How to communicate with Customers? Fix Problems?

ScionScion Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello people, I noticed how my A+ 2003 Core exam had a lot of questions on how to be a professional PC Technician. (I had a 864/900. I'm not taking the A+ 2003 OS exam until June 29. I'm not good with the OS due to a lack of experience with any OS other than Windows XP Home Edition. icon_rolleyes.gif ) Apparently it is the focus of the new A+ Exams 2006 as well. Here I have a list of suggestions I complied from experience as part of Mouse Squad Tech Support at my high school. Some customer-related questions are pretty much common-sense, but most of my classmates actually have trouble on these questions. Some other problems on troubleshooting are also among the questions answered wrong most of the time.

Notes on being a customer-friendly professional PC technician:
As a professional PC technician, you all should know that in addition to being updated with new technology and striving for top professional certifications, you need excellent customer relationships.

First put yourself in the customer shoes. What does the customer want? How does he or she want to be treated as? Here are some common-sense factors you need as a PC technician:

- Always have a positive and helpful attitude.
- Take hold of the problem like it's yours. Customer's problem is your problem.
- Be dependable. Keep your promises.
Example: If your appointment with a customer is at 10 am, don't come at 3 pm and make excuses.
- When talking to a customer, focus on the customer, not the broken computer.
- Be credible and truthful. If you don't know the answer to the problem, call someone that knows.
- Be aware of your surroundings.
- Be professional and take note of customers' matters.