Need help passing A+

suziz28suziz28 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I can not seem to get past my A+ practice tests. icon_cry.gif
I am a female student currrently attending MTI in Sacramento, CA.

I have taken the A+ class 2 times and both times I haven't gone in to take the final exam. Not to mention that I haven't even began to try and take the real test. I can't seem to retain the information I take notes, and I study but I freeze when it comes time to take a test. I am not stupid but I think the 6 weeks I am given to learn everything I am supposed to know is not enough time. Is anyone out there willing to help or give me some pointers as to what steps I can take to get this certification? I don't want to watse my time I've invested in the school and the money. HELP icon_rolleyes.gificon_eek.gif:D

Comments

• Dark_LineageDark_Lineage Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Repitition is the key... focus on one part until you understand it completely and your able to recall the material at will. Then move on to the next section.
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    No doubt, A+ covers a lot of material. That's the big problem.

I took 8 weeks on OS and then 8 weeks on Core in accelerated courses at a local state college. It included a pretty good lab atmosphere.

Even after that, none of the 6 of us who took the classes felt confident enough to pass. It's just so much material but, I sure learned a lot in those classes. You probably know more than you think you do.

I studied another 5 months and read 2 study guides besides what was required for the classes. My favorite was the All-In-One Exam Guide by MIke Meyers. I also practiced with OSs on an old PC that I had.

The big thing is to learn to differentiate between what info that you just have to memorize and what is needed to actually do troubleshooting and configuration.

Mainly, if you like IT work, dive in and have fun with it!!