Options

A+ certified...now what?

AnonymouseAnonymouse Member Posts: 509 ■■■■□□□□□□
Okay so here's a little background. I'm going to Heald College studying for a degree in IT Network Security and I just got my A+ last week. Now this may be too broad of a question but what kinds of jobs should I be looking for? I currently work a desk job which has nothing to do with what I'm studying and I have a part-timer disconnecting and reconnecting computers and servers. Now I'm looking to get some sort of experience that somehow relates to my degree I'm trying to get so what kind of jobs should I be trying to look for and apply to?

Also does anyone know any sites to use? I'm looking on craigslist, monster, and dice right now.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    blackmage439blackmage439 Member Posts: 163
    First of all, congrats on your A+! :D Is that your first certificate?

Second, wise choice of study in college. My Cisco security teacher told my class that network security is a huge field to get in right now, and employers are scrambling to fill spots with people with security knowledge and experience.

Basically, anything related to "general IT" is a good starting point. Look especially for internships or jobs in law enforcement. Many precincts and law enforcement bodies across the world are starting to realize the danger that cyber crime creates. However, anything having to do (at least in part) with managing a network will inevitably introduce you to hands-on experience dealing with network security. This typically includes jobs related to the field of "computer technician". In a smaller company or school, computer techs (like myself icon_wink.gif ) typically deal with everything IT related in their job, including desktop repair (which could include disinfecting a virus), network management/installation, etc.