Options

Basic lab for new CCNA exam?

TMM3TMM3 Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I am looking to purchase or build a basic lab that will give me some hands on experience with the material that I am studying for this CCNA. As it looks I will be taking the new CCNA exam when it comes out in a couple of months.
My question is that Im looking for the minimum and essential cisco devices inorder to best prepare for this new exam, would anybody have any suggestions on which hardware, or which place to purchase these materials from, maybee even a round about price so as I can use to compare against?
I would like to eventually go for the CCNP so if there is a slight difference in router or switch that I should purchase that will also work with the CCNP exam I welcome those suggestions aswell.

So far I have come across a couple of tips reading through this forum such as:
-SDM atleast on the switches
-stay away from the 2500 routers
-2 routers and two siwtches minimum
-ciscokits.com is too old of equitment and overpriced.

Any input is much appreciated.
Thank you

Comments

• Options
    LOkrasaLOkrasa Member Posts: 343 ■■■□□□□□□□
    well... I dont know if 2501s are going to be obsolete for the new exam... I know for the current one I am using them and they serve me well. As far as prices here is the break down I have seen on eBay the last month or so. I know these prices may seem high to some of you who built your lab as recently as May but these things are in demand all of a sudden...

Here is my lab and the break down of prices.
    All w/o shipping and /each.
    1-2520 ~ 80
    3-2501s ~ $10-15 depends on Flash/RAM
    1-2514 ~ $40
    1 2509 ~ $100
    1-2620 ~ These really vary in price bc of the cards that come with them... They can range from like 100 all the way up to 300 or more... Mine had 2-WIC2T 2Port Smart Serial and a 8Port A/S Serial card for 200... I think that was good deal.
    2-2924 ~ $100