Options

What next?

networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
I am a netwrok professional in the military with about six years of experience. I will be exiting the military in about nine months.:D Needless to say I will be looking for a job in the IT industry as network engineer or administrator. I have my CCNA, but no degree. I was wondering if i should go for my CCNP or widen my area of certification by doing some MS certs or I was also looking into the CWNA. I know a degree is the best way to go, but I need to get a job to support my family while I try to gain my degree. What do you guys think? I have also been in touch with a recruiter from Tek Systems, is this a good idea? Has anyone obtained a job through this company? I know this is a lot of questions, but I'm new to the civillian sector of IT even though I have years of experience. Any information you guys could provide would be very hepfull.
An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.

Comments

• Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What is your current skill set?
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    My primary skills are routing and switching primarly with Cisco equipment. I also have working knowledge of VoIP, PBX, PROMINA as well as Callmanager experience. I currently do pretty much anything to do with our network and communications sytems. I don't really have experince on the systems administaration side of the house as that is handaled by the sytems admins.
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    With that skill set, why don't you look into the CCVP?
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete