Options

I am 22 yrs old with no college degree

NetworkheadNetworkhead Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have about 6 yrs of IT experience ( 4 yrs of sys admin experience). I make 71k/yr as a network admin in the NY area. Is this normal or am I doing well?
I completed 2 years of EE before dropping out to dedicate more time to my job.
Another step closer to my goal.

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    To me, it depends on so many factors. I've seen several jobs posted on sites like Craigslist where they want someone in Chicago with 5-7 years of experience and are offering $80,000. I'm pretty sure the cost of living is higher in New York.

Depends on:
    1. Where in New York determines cost of living salary
    2. Do you consider yourself an expert in a specific piece of technology where your company would consider you a very valuable employee?
    3. Do you consider yourself well rounded in many of the technologies that your company's infrastructure has? Do you know the network so well that your company needs you very badly or could you be easily replaced?
    4. Do you know if your company is holding you back due to a lack of a college degree?
    5. Have you checked other company's salary offerings in your area for jobs similar to yours?
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Where exactly in NY do you live? Expenses are much more expensive in NYC than, say, Syracuse. $71k/year sounds like a good salary at such a young age, though.
    MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003, LPIC-1, MCP, MCTS: Vista Config, MCTS: SQL Server 2005, CCNA, A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, Linux+, BSCS (Information Systems)
  • Options
    SRTMCSESRTMCSE Member Posts: 249