Options

MS Press Book Question Clarification

alharlandalharland Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all. Firstly just to introduce myself, I am currently studying for the 70-291 exam using the MS Press Book, CBT Nuggets, Transcender, Advice Forums, and the good old MS website. I am hoping to take this at the end of September, thus giving me a total of just under 3 months study in advance.

I was hoping that somebody could clarify one of the questions in the MS Press Book for me regarding DNS.

Q:
You discover that an administrator has adjusted the default TTL value for your company's primary DNS zone to 5 minutes. Which of the following is the most likely effect of this change?

A:
a. Resource records cached on the primary DNS server expire after 5 minutes.
b. DNS clients have to query the server more frequently to resolve names for which the server is authoritative.
c. Secondary servers initiate a zone transfer every 5 minutes.
d. DNS hosts reregister their records more frequently.

The correct answer is b, but could somebody please clarify why.

I am under the understanding that the TTL values are not relevant for the resource records within their authoritative zones, and that the TTL instead refers to the cache life of a resource record in nonauthoritative servers. Is this correct? If so, why is the above answer option b?

Please could somebody clear this up for me. It may be me being stupid, but I have been staring at this for ages and can't get my head around it.

Thanks,

Alfie.

Comments

• Options
    CorySCoryS Member Posts: 208
    Hello, the question comes off a little garbled to me at least. With TTL values on secondary servers set lower when the TTL is reached the records are expired and the next request will have to be resolved from the primary server for resolution. So in this case the clients will need to hammer on the primary server more often in order to keep their records accurate.