Options

Help! Need some serious advice.

AceMiloAceMilo Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently enrolled in an A+ course which I'm paying $1200 dollars for. I have a degree already in CIS but haven't found a job since graduating so I figured getting some certs would help me find something. I know my way around a PC - been using one since I was 7. After the first day of class the teacher pulled me over and was like maybe you should drop the class and take the test yourself since you know your stuff. I am enrolled in A+ and Net+ and the admin said he would transfer the money I paid to Net+ if I decide to quit and take the test on my own. Now, my problem really is that I've taken a few practice tests and depending on the program (transcender, totaltester, etc) the tests seem to focus on different things. For example, transcender had about 4 questions on SCSI and totalteser had 0. On totaltester I'm getting about 80% without studying what I don't know, but on transcender I got a 66% my first time. Basically, is the class worth it for someone like me? I really only don't know laser printers, scsi, and some windows 2000 stuff those seem to be the only topics I seem to be getting wrong. So, is it worth it to just quit the class and do it on my own (I have a book from the school), or should I stick it out and keep the class?

On a side note, how do the tests work? Are you allowed to bring notes or a book in with you?

TIA

Comments

• Options
    matradleymatradley Member Posts: 549
    I think the class would have been beneficial to you. The exam objectives include Windows 2000, Printers (inkjet, laser, plotter, etc...), SCSI, RAID, and so fourth. I am sure you have look at the objectives already, but here is the link - http://certification.comptia.org/resources/objectives.aspx .