Win2003 Lab : 70-290

Hi guys, i am new to Win2k3 server. I have a personal Dell computer with Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition Installed. Its is multiboot configured with WinXP Pro and WinXP Home. My question is .....

1. Can i configure it to be a Domain Controller without having a Physical Network ?
2. What are Essential configs i need to make for Lab Practice on AD and Terminal Services ?
3. I do have a basic Compaq desktop as well if that could be made use of. any help ?

Thank you.
MCITP: EA 2008| VCP4| MCSE 2003 | CCNA | MCSA 2003: Security | MCDST | Security+ | ITILV3

Comments

• techster79techster79 Member Posts: 169 ■■■□□□□□□□
    1. Can i configure it to be a Domain Controller without having a Physical Network ?

If you have enough memory, run VMWare or Virtual server. I used Virtual Server and was able to create 5 DC's, each in their own seperate network, with 2 clients with virtual NICs in each network. It will require using RRAS(which is a 70-291 topic) to have that kind of config. If you want to keep it simple just stand up 2 DC's(you won't need more than this for 290) and 2 clients in 1 or 2 networks(each NIC in its own network) should be more than enough for labwork.

2. What are Essential configs i need to make for Lab Practice on AD and Terminal Services ?

You will need to know ADUC(AD users and computers), how to make a server a domain controller, how to add users to a domain and set rights and permissions. Be able to create OU and set properties and delegate control. Terminal Services is not a really big deal just install it and play around with it. There are three snap-ins you will need to know TS manager, TS configuration, and TS licensing.

3. I do have a basic Compaq desktop as well if that could be made use of. any help ?

Maybe, slap a 2nd NIC in your DC as well as your desktop and run through labs in MS Press, or online labs. Only a few of the labs require 2 NICs, but it would be good practice.

Good luck