Options

What is the starting point in Linux?

masood78masood78 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new to the Linux world and I want to know the starting point, I know there are lots of materials on net but I am not yet properly understand. Is there any links that guide me thoroughly and help me, so that I can use Linux professionally.

Comments

• Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    First you need to download a Linux distro and install it. There a lot of different distros out there but most people recommend starting with Fedora and/or Ubuntu. Red Hat seems to be one of the most popular distros in the enterprise environment but is not free, you could download CentOS instead because it is free and is just like Red Hat enterprise Linux just without the Red Hat name and support. Be sure to have a look at www.distrowatch.com when you get some time, there you will find info about every flavor of linux. Hope that helps.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options
    GrynderGrynder Member Posts: 106
    I agree with everything sthomas has written. In addition I'd like to add that when I first installed LInux at home I went out and bought a RH9 book and scanned through it before installing Linux. That gave me a better understanding of the installation options, disk formatting before jumping in.
  • Options
    vwtechvwtech Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I have had Ubuntu installed for about 3 weeks on my laptop at home.

I **** love it... you know.

Im tripping cause the world makes it like theirs only M$ and Mac.

I haven't had any problems with Ubuntu. I've just read the forums for help and all.

Put since I would like to get my Linux+ cert like to know what distro is better to use for preparing for the exam :D
    Don't tell co-workers your going for a Cert that they don't have. They may think your trying to take their job.
  • Options
    EverlifeEverlife Member Posts: 253 ■■■□□□□□□□
    vwtech,