Options

IT Manager or degree

Mike_twMike_tw Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well, Im in a bit of a pickle here.

I am 18, Studying my last year at school now. I also work as a website administrator & general IT guy for a fairly large company.

Today, I was invited to speak with the directors who offered me a Job as the company IT Manager, They are very impressed with my work and they dont have any IT staff at the moment apart from me. This company is targeting 100 million in sales a year so its a fairly large and expanding company.

I dont know what to do here, should i take this opportunity or get a degree. My worry is that both decisions can result in a bad way, the company could get sold off , or i could get a degree and not be able to find a job at the end of it. This is a fantastic opportunity for me, Is it too good to resist? This type of job might not come around ever again.

If I did take this job, the company agreed to pay for me to take courses like a HND and the certificates like CCNA etc. I would also get a fairly nice wage every month. Lets say I worked for 2 years earning £25k per year. Thats £75k over 3 years. If I were to study for 3 years, it would be -£20k. So my question is, in this situation is a degree worth £95k.

On a side note, I also benefit from getting free computer equipment! Sometimes when a company is taken over they bring all of the IT equipment from there and I can have them. I had 5 decent machines today.

I would gain experience from this job, get certs paid for & constantly learn hands on. I would be working with Cisco Routers,Switches etc

So, Any advice here would be appreciated very much. I dont want to make the wrong decision and then regret it.

Thankyou

Comments

• Options
    dtlokeedtlokee Member Posts: 2,378 ■■■■□□□□□□