Options

helpdesk or not?

emmajoyceemmajoyce Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey people,
I have a decision possibly to make. I have been trying to get a job in either networking or possibly desktop support. However the few interviews Ive had didnt want me because I have no "paid" experience. I do have two good prospects-- one is a helpdesk and the other is a pc mobile repair company. Neither is really what I wanted but I need a job and I need to get a computer job considering I spent the last four years to obtain this goal. My problem is I want to get into networking. The helpdesk job is just for these peoples software. Thus I wouldnt get to use hardly anything I have Learned. The mobile repair does alot more of what i learned but not too much networking. My problem I guess is Im afraid neither of these will really help me get the type of job I want in a year or two. Im thinking It would be the same in an interview after working at these places. The recruiter would look at my resume and say " oh I see you dont have any real network experience". Thus I would be in the same situation Im in now. If my thinking is wrong, would someone that hires or knows for sure, please let me know.Or should I just hold out for a desktop support type of position. I really wouldnt mind working for either if it will help me get a networking job in the future and would actually look like I had gained experience. thanks people
lungsucker.jpg

Comments

• Options
    techgeek07techgeek07 Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
    As a former team lead, you need to get some experience under your belt. Take the help desk job. At least you'll be more eposed to everything. Certs are what get's your foot in the door, experience is what brings you through
    Please excuse any spelling errors, I speak well, but, write like a five year old
  • Options
    malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi emmajoyce,