Just got back from SQL training.... Amazed..

TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
So I just went down to Atlanta for four 8 hour day courses on SQL customizing and advanced customizing..

To give you a little background, I am a windows admin and dabble a little in SQL.

First day of class was pretty basic. What commands do, the do's and dont's etc.
Second day, using select statements, imports, exports, where statements etc.
Third Day, creating triggers, stored procedures etc
Four day, integrating SQL scripting with custom applications.

By the 3rd day the class size went down from 20+ students to 8 people.

Our professor has been in the SQL business for well over 20+ years and has customized/made scripts for over 100,000+ business's. This guy was flat amazing! I can't give enough emphasis on how well a teacher this guy was and how technically advanced he is. He lives and breaths this stuff.

When I say I dabble in SQL, I literally mean that. I can create triggers, stored procedures, some custom scripts, create some front end application to tie in with the sql script and crystal reports etc, but this guy was just flat amazing. I was sitting beside another student in the class that was very well known by everyone in class. I guess he had been in for about 15years and he does most of the programming of scripts for many of the smaller businesses, again another awesome person to meet and share experiences with.

Not to go on and on, but this was a great networking experience and after learning how they write their code and what they want to use it for, I was able to explain a few tips of my own using batch files to better assist with their coding.

It was great being able to sit down with these guys and ask them what cool features they may want/need etc and then be able to make them come real using my windows experience and them being able to help me out in just the opposite using SQL.