Options

What am I worth?

doubleupdoubleup Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently looking for IT jobs that require a Secret clearance, as I have an active one. I'm considering signing on with a company in the Boulder, CO area. IBM has a current interest in me, however the company is only offering me $40k.

I have over 4 years experience and training in the military (my job was 3C0X1 in the US Air Force), A+ certified, Associates in Information Technology, will have a B.S. in December and the job requires a Secret clearance. I've been outta the game for a few years doing other stuff (mainly school) and want to get back into the IT scene. I've forgotten a lot of stuff that I had learned, but think it could easily be refreshed. I'd have to move out to CO as I currently live in CA, but want to move!

Is $40k for my situation too cheap? I told them I want more, but the company is an outsource (like Robert Half technology). I know the clearance adds another 5-10k annually, so what would a normal job like this pay? I think it's for a Desktop Spt position with IBM, but the company hasn't told me the exact job description/title!

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    jbaellojbaello Member Posts: 1,191 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would expect more than 40 K, specially you having those credentials, but don't forget you can always negotiate. They always try to offer you the lowest salary, then they have a range of what they are willing to pay, hopefully when you negotiate you hit the high spot of that range.

my 2 cents
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    There are a lot of factors in salary, but I havn't seen many desk top support jobs paying higher than $40k. Like I said it all depends on the market and the location, but I don't think $40k is low for a desk top support position.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□