Options

How to connect to Console Port ? Someone please help

szkizzerszkizzer Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

Im new to cisco stuff and have bought like couple of routers and one switch before i actually start studying. I was wayy excited to study so I bought the router and switch before I began studying.

So today my Cisco 2501 and 2524 arrived in the mail, along with the Cisco 2924 Switch. What it also came with was the regular Power Cables, as well as one DTE/DCE Cable. And then a DB15 -> RJ45 Connector. ALl of them turn on, and are good power wise.

So far, pretty good. All the Stuff turns on. Bad Part: I dont know how to connect to them. This is where I need someone who knows more to help.

So basically what Im trying to do is: connect to a router so I can erase the configuration, and begin over. This is what Im trying to do

-Since all three have rj-45 console ports, Connect one end into console port, the other into my laptop(using the regular ethernet cable used for connecting PC to Router). I use wireless for my internet, so I have that port free. Im trying to use hyperterminal to connect to it, but since im connected through ethernet - it asks for hostname/ip which I dont know.

So I goto command prompt, type in ipconfig to see what ip is connected my interface, and for LAN port 1 it says the IP connected in 169.254.210.217 with a Subnet mask of 255.255.0.0
My interfaces have a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. So I dont think thats the problem. And now when I use hyperterminal and type in that address, and try to connect to port 23. It doesnt work. Please Help I dont have a Rj45 to serial port cable, and my laptop does not even have a serial port connection. How can I connect.

Will a regular ethernet cable used for connecting PC to Router, work here, or Do I need some special Cable. If possible, could you give me multiple ways to connect, so I can atleast start messing with them. Just lookin at em' makes me wanna study so I can learn to use em, ya know?