Options

How much studying and preparation did you do for the CCNA?

AbigailleAbigaille Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I was wondering how much previous experience and preparation did you did beforehand to pass the CCNA?

I just want to make sure that I am not under preparing by comparing other peoples experience..

My history is passed N+ A+ have 4 years of desktop support/network experience. (not any corp wide large enterprise experience)
So I am familier with basic networking.
But I have never worked with the Cisco IOS before.

I have the Richard Deal McGrawHill CCNa Study Guide book and I have been reading and studying it for the last month and I have only like 4 four chapters left which I will finish before my bootcamp. Then I will be taking a 5 day boot camp through trainingcamp.com and taking the test there. I also have a simulator which I have been playing with and creating my own 'networks' in.

I am hopeing that this is enough.

what did you all do? Is this enough?
A+, NET+, CCNA and CCDA = Passed.

Comments

• Options
    benbuiltpcbenbuiltpc Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
    It took me 1 year. I went through the academy for all 4 semesters. After semester 2 I easily passed INTRO. But it wasn't enough for ICND. The academy courses were pretty leisurely and I had no prior Cisco experience.
  • Options
    NetstudentNetstudent Member Posts: 1,693 ■■■□□□□□□□
    That might be enough to get you over a 849. Just try and get as much sim or rack time as you possibly can for frame-relay, ospf,eigrp,vlans/vtp and stp.