Options

CCNA value

m0rpheusm0rpheus Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well, I just wanted to share a few thoughts of mine with the rest of you.

I am currently studying for my ICND and I'm spending lots of time (re)reading different books (I have about 5), practicing with real Cisco gear and what have you. I love networking and I hope to make it to CCIE one day...

But there is one problem. I believe the CCNA certs aren't valued too much because of the enormous amount of "paper CCNAs". You all know what I mean - there are people who get certified just by memorizing a bunch of questions/sims and they don't even know what DLCI stands for. I believe besides cheating, this causes companies not to weight the CCNA certification that much, because "everyone has CCNA now". I just wished that Cisco could change the questions on these exams every month (for example), so that there could be no possible cheating in this aspect.

I don't know if I'm right...but that's just the way I feel... icon_rolleyes.gif
You can if you think you can

Comments

• Options
    NetstudentNetstudent Member Posts: 1,693 ■■■□□□□□□□
    you are right and this concerns us all. But if you love networking, then treat CCNA as a mere stepping stone to professional level certs. Have your goals set beyond CCNA. The IT industry is growing in complexity, so those paper CCNA's will weed out. You are aware of the problem, now you just have to make yourself more marketable and skilled with upper level certs.
    There is no place like 127.0.0.1 BUT 209.62.5.3 is my 127.0.0.1 away from 127.0.0.1!
  • Options
    r_durantr_durant Member Posts: 486 ■■■□□□□□□□