Options

IT Managers in the field without a clue!

determinedgermandeterminedgerman Member Posts: 168
Hello Everybody,

I just needed to get rid of some issues i got. I work for a big computer equipment and networking reseller. I deal with IT Managers and IT Directors everyday. Some of those people don't have a clue about their job and I know more than those guys.
I mean some IT guys call me from big companies and ask me if there is something like a RJ-45 cable.
And I am wondering why I am still stuck in a Sales Job.
I am not saying everybody is bad but most of the guys i get on the phone are.
Is there anyone feeling the same? Are you guys work in the field and do you know people like that?
I am A+ and Network + Certified and I am working on the CCNA and CWNA cert right now, and i got my bachelors degree in Computer Information Systems.

Terrible world out there.

Comments

• Options
    viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
    lol...I know what you mean!!! It makes you wonder how they got the "IT Manager Position." icon_eek.gif
    CCNP Security - DONE!
    CCNP R&S - In Progress...
    CCIE Security - Future...
  • Options
    RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Ahhhh the typical 'manager' syndrome. Unfortunately in many areas there are people who just do not know the details of the area they are managing, but are in that position due to things like Staff Management Experience, Butt Kissing, Knowing How to Fill In Forms Correctly Experience ... and thats not counting being the big boss's niece or nephew ... lol
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Well spoken RussS! icon_lol.gif

Incompetence is a decease that usually targets IT managers. Unfortunately it also works the other way around..., at the time I got a chance to become a 'manager', I couldn't give things out of hand and still wanted to take care of all the details myself :D