Options

Programmer VS Networking/System Career

davidvoyagedavidvoyage Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm a fresh grad from University with Comp. Sci degree.(They didn't teach network stuff in University, only JAVA programming and theory stuff) Most of my friends pursue their career in programming. They still couldn't find a job, because University didn't teach the REAL stuff :p Some of them decide to go to college for 1 more year in programming and others self study .NET and C#.

Me on the other hand, I start studying Network+ cert, and plan to do MCSE and Cisco later. However, I feel so lonely...all my friends are in programming. Some of them say Network/System admins are just "repair guys". Those managers may expect you to know everything I.T. stuff and scold you if you can't fix the network/PC in 5 mins etc...and I start to think if I'm making the wrong decision...

They also say that programmer can become a "PM" (Project Manager) or Software Developer later. But Network guy will always be the "repair guy". This really make me worry.... icon_sad.gif

I'm a bit confused and don't know what should I do now. Should I change to do programming instead?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    First I have never worked on the programing side so I can not give you much insight on that. If you decide to go network/systems admin, yes you will be required to "repair" the network. Its not like you are a mechanic or anything though :D Although simple hardware repair may sometimes be required.

You can also work your way into project management of network/systems projects. Why would they hire a programer to lead a networking project??