Starting from scratch.

mattquestmattquest Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everybody,

I've joined this forum as a reference for CompTIA and I've been finding a lot of great stuff.

I'm brand new to the world of certification and am about to start a self-study for my A+ cert and hope to have a future as an IT grunt in the near future.

My question is this:

If you were to start all over again, or play jedi master to someone a bit cert clueless like myself what would you recommend I take after my A+?

I have no predetermined path I'd like to take so I'm pretty open when it comes to the type of cert. For me its all about what is in demand and what is useful but I'm finding a lot of disinformation out there. I know that if I were to eventually get my CCNA I'd have some good job prospects however I'm a bit stumped on the best path from A+ to Cisco.

Any suggestions/comments would be appreciated

cheers,

Matt

Comments

• sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the forums Matt, I would recommend getting Network+ and then MCDST or MCITP:Enterprise Support Technician certification. Start looking for an entry level job right away, even before you finish your A+. You will most like have to start out at Helpdesk or Desktop Support. Once you get some experience you can then start working on the higher level certs like MCSA/MCSE and CCNA/CCNP.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • IT_AdminIT_Admin Member Posts: 158
    Definitely go with A+, Network+. Then get some *hands on* experince, which will usually result in helpdesk. I was told when I started on my IT path, that you should not be on helpdesk for longer than 18months. I did it for a year and GTFO. Once you get a base of IT experince its just a matter of trying to claw your way into something bigger and better. Never stop studying thou. I used to take my MCSE books with me to work and study when things got slow.
    Next victim: 70-351

On my way to MCSE 2K3: Security