Options

Future in IT?

ArveanArvean Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

Recently I was in the middle of road and I had to rethink my approch to IT itself. I'm still confused so I hope that your valuable comments can share some light. Just to give you some background, I used to work as a level 1/2 IT technician for a real estate office here in New York. Because of conficts with supervisiors and terrible atmosphere I decided to quit it and pursue a new goal. I found a job as an Technical Administrator/Office Manager for another Real Estate business and have been with them for almost a year now. I love my job and the mixture of both IT ( 25 computers with a server) and managing the office. My boss is just great and caring person, extremely wise with more than 30 years experience with top business. She says that I have a great potential but not in IT. I'm still in school pursuing my BS, so she persuades me to leave IT go for Economics. Her point is that she tries to protect me from getting a job worth only 45-60K , and prepare me for bigger and better bucks in business.

I can't seem to cut out of IT completely, but I see her point and decided to go for degree in Economics getting IT certifications of the way, just in case later I will want to go back in IT. Is it a good choice? will that mixture benefit me, or it's a complete waste of time/money as I won't be devoted deeply into one field?

I'd love to hear your thoughts.
No trees were killed in the posting of this message. However a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    You'll need to decide for yourself what is in YOUR best interest.

While you manager may be giving proper perspective, she may not want to loose you and your skillset. On the other hand, she may be 100% correct and giving you the absolute truth. IT may be your love, but maybe you're better at something else?