Options

What certifications to start with?

mmrbbssmmrbbss Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
This is my first time posting on this site. I really need some expierience, strength and hope as far as what direction/order I need to go with these certifications. Presently I have none. I have been building computers, troubleshoting hardware/software, wireless networks, redundant backup systems, etc., within Windows operating systems for approx. 6 years. I enjoy it and people are pleased with my work. I've been doing this mostly as a side job/hobby. I enjoy this sort of thing and want to enhance my skills and make some money doing it. I want to persue this type of work full time and am wondering what certs to start with. From what I've gathered thus far the CompTIA A+ seems like a good place to start. Is this right? I'm not sure exactly where I want to go in this field (possibly networking). What about the Microsoft Certs? Which ones can I add to get an employers attention? Hope this makes sense. Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    NinjaBoyNinjaBoy Member Posts: 968
    Hi, in my opinion I would recommend doing the A+, Network+ and the MCDST.

A+ for the hardware and software that is suppose to be vendorless
    Network+ as this will give you a good basis for the Microsoft certs/quals
    MCDST as an entry to Microsoft exams and is a very good level 1 cert that employers look for, the MCDST comprises of 2 MS exams, pass one and you'll get the MCP credential, pass the second one and you get the full MCDST.

Hope this helps

-Ken
  • Options
    wpiersallwpiersall Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Just starting in IT... Most companies require min of A+ then it would be a matter of what you would like to do next.

Must take
    220-601 A+ Essentials

Pick one to take
    220-602 A+ IT Technican (Deskside support)
    220-603 A+ Remote Technican (Help Desk)
    220-604 A+ Depot (Depot or Bench)