Options

I will one day be giving back what you give. But first......

wowitfothwowitfoth Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
I will spare you the details, but I am 38 and just now growing up. I am hooked on these metal boxes! I am self taught and using a machine I built. I am my family and friends tech support as well! I have a goal set to receive my A+ by the end of the year. All I expect is to get a job repairing and upgrading at places like CompUSA etc., making 10-15 dollars an hour. Is this realistic? I understand my lack of experience and will start from the bottom. I did not grad. H.S. and hated school! But computers and the net have made learning fun. I never read any book prior to 1999 when I started on my love/hate relationship with pc's (Personal Confuser). This X-mas I asked for Scott Mueller's "Upgrading and Repairing PC's 15th Edition! I remain humble because every time I get cocky and think I know what I am doing, the intelligence in these forums put me in my place! That’s some good sucking up huh? LOL! Seriously I appreciate this site and its members.
spysig.php?lang=en&char=ironman

Comments

• Options
    pandimuspandimus Member Posts: 651
    Yeah, were pretty much all in love with metal boxes. (i even like boxes made of other materials). Getting an a+ before xmas is more than a do-able goal. Matter of fact, if you put your heart in it, you could do it in 2 months.. or even sooner.. Once i got to it, it took me about 1 month total. Everyone seems to agree that mike meyers all in one is an excellent book for a+..

Needless to say.. Good luck
    Xinxing is the hairy one.
  • Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    I live in Southern Indiana and PC repair entry level wages run $7-$10 an hour. I don't know what West coast wages are actually like.