Options

vpn

badpapajjbadpapajj Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new at working with VPNs, I am working with Windows XP at my office and home and two other employees at their home. I would like to set up a VPN to be able to connect to my office computer even when someone else is logged in at the same time, and have security. I have DSL and am working with "Go to my PC" but I cannot log in when someone else is logged on. So my questions are; Do I need anything special as far as hardware to start and install a VPN? What are the steps to install a VPN in the office PC (main) and the other PCs? How do I begin (Installation Process and after it is installed) How do I start the VPN connection to the office from another PC? Tell me everything I need to know as if you were instructing a new student (or baby). Thank you very much.
Helping, just makes you feel good.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    There are many different ways to set up a VPN. Check here for starters www.google.com. If you have any specific questions I'm sure people will be more than happy to help you out.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,034 Admin
    badpapajj wrote:
    I would like to set up a VPN to be able to connect to my office computer even when someone else is logged in at the same time, and have security. I have DSL and am working with "Go to my PC" but I cannot log in when someone else is logged on.
    A VPN is only a secure network connection between your computer at home and a router or VPN concentrator at your office. Using a VPN with remote desktop software will not allow two or more people to logon to a single Windows computer at the same time. To do this, Windows Terminal Services is often the solution.
  • Options
    AhriakinAhriakin Member Posts: 1,799 ■■■■■■■■□□