Options

Why is the exam so hard? Studying tips please

GundamtdkGundamtdk Member Posts: 210
I have been studying for 70-290 for over 3 months already.

I have read the MS Press books and Que exam books.

I have installed VM Ware and practiced with Windows 2003.

I have taken Trancender exams and I always fail.

I find the books only give a brief overview on the topics and don't go enough detail on the material.

I would like some advise on how to approach this exam.

Comments

• Options
    glennrossleeglennrosslee Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,

I am also currently studying for my 70-290 and have booked my exam for the 2nd November. I started my certification studies with my A+, N+ and then MCDST. The MCDST broke me into the way Microsoft tests as it is different to Comptia (A+, N+) exams. Also, this gave me a head start in Windows, even though I have been using XP since it was released. After the MCDST I easily passed 70-270, another XP cert. My studying for the 70-290 is so much easier after the MCDST and 70-270, there is loads of overlap on these exams. My suggestion would be to maybe start on the MCDST, depending on your experience level then follow the MCSA/MCSE track incrementally. EG: 70-270, 70-290...etc. As I said, there is loads of overlap and by starting with the other certs it makes it far easier to study for and pass the 70-290 by the time you get there. For your info, I passed the MCDST and 70-270 in less than two months, this is study time and taking the exams. It also helps that I currently work with the OS's (XP, 2003, 2000, NT). I tried starting on the 70-290 over a year ago and also found it difficult to grasp the concepts and I am glad that I canned the idea and then went back to the beginning and started over...eg: A+, N+, MCDST, 70-270 and now finally 70-290. Just my 2c worth, goodluck and never give up...

Regards,

Glenn Rosslee