Options

DHCP question

dagr8timdagr8tim Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ok, I know you can set a cisco router to emulate DHCP servers. I know you can exclude ranges of IP's that you do not want served. But I just read that you can map IP's to mac addresses. I understand that.

My question is this. Let's say your a network geek an Acme wigit company. You assign the machine in your office/cubical to the ip address of 192.168.1.150 by mapping the mac in the machine to that IP in the router. Now you use the fact that you basically have a static IP inside the company to say host lan games. If your DHCP lease expires and there is a request for information to 192.168.1.150, will that packet reach your machine or will it die at the router because you do not have a DHCP lease?
There are two major products that came out of Berkeley: LSD and Unix. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

Comments

• Options
    pandimuspandimus Member Posts: 651
    I am not an expert, but wanna stab at this..

If your router is your dhcp server, the only way your reserved lease should expire is if your router goes down? So could the traffic flow regardless? Unless it is in the same subnet..

Just throwing that out there.
    Xinxing is the hairy one.
  • Options
    Yeah, I understand that. My thing was this. Say we have the example above and I go on vacation for a week and leave my computer on. The lease is set to expire after 24 hours. What happens after that.

Or is it a case that the lease keeps renewing because people are contacting it and it is replying with information?
    There are two major products that came out of Berkeley: LSD and Unix. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.
  • Options
    No after 50% of lease time, the computer automatically requests a refresh of that lease. A lease time does not end after said time, unless the server is down or the lease reservation is moved elsewere..

Just going off of memory, so if i am shooting incorrect info please correct me.