Options

I.T. Careers

iSkateiSkate Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I Apologize if i'm reposting, but what motivates you to keep pursuing a career in I.T.? Maybe it's just me, but i get reeeaaallyy discouraged after studying hard, sending out tons of emails, cover letters, calls, resumes and constantly looking for opportunities to find that i get nothing. I really hate my job (i can't stand best buy's lying and the small amount they pay me). i don't know if a career in I.T. is EVEN WORTH IT at the rate this is going. it's insane every employer claims to need at least two to five years experience, but no one acknowledges that i'm a GRADUATE that's looking for experience!!lol.

So, Question: How do you yall stay focused; stay motivated???

Comments

• Options
    CorySCoryS Member Posts: 208
    I will be quite honest, it was very VERY tough. Being in the general labor market while going to get my AAS degree for Network Administration I was able to keep my head up since I thought for sure once I graduated I would be able to find a job no problem, even if it was a helpdesk position. I absolutely love computers and spend countless hours on my own just tinkering so I assumed this was my calling... After I graduated I found it extremely hard to crack the ice and find my first gig but when I did it came surprisingly easy since at this point my interview skills had increased dramatically from many interviews in the past, and my anxiety slowly disappeared, at this point I was so fed up that even if I didnt get the job I really didnt care anymore so I came off as extremely honest and up front, this in turn landed it, and its been a good ride ever since...