Options

Any IT guys in the REAL ESTATE industry?

falcon101falcon101 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am kind of curious. I have been working for a "kinda" big Real Estate firm for the last 4 years. We have a Corp office and 10 sites around.

Quick history...It may sound all well and good and believe me sometimes it is...

I was hired by the IT Manager, now one of my best friends, as a PC TECH through Robert Half Tech. I was hired permanenlty after 3 months and promoted to IT Supervisor the year after and now as an IT Manager, 3 years after. My buddy, the ole IT Man relocated to ATL as works as a Network Engineer.

During the 4 years I started school to complete my Bachelors but put a stop to my cert hunt....bad idea!...Now as everyone and LITERALLY thier mother knows how bad the real estate market is...I feel like I am on a sinking ship. I am applying as much as possible but no catch yet. I make good money...but quite honestly the network enviorment and set up is VERY simple and easy to maintain...that bothers me...ALOT! The setup was done in the Real estate BOOM of 2002-2005 and the Ole IT MAN did not really see a need for AD structure and he was under a lot of pressure and work load.
I need and want to work with "heavy" stuff. Yes I have the benefit of working with Cisco rotuers, WIN2003 Servers and other "goodies" but for God's sake we don't even have a Domain setup in the Corp office...until few months ago when i promoted a Server to DC and setup few users to it. The owners can care less about UPGRADING and rather sell more houses..and the biggest hurdle is getting approved for IT equip. Getting a freakin FLASH drive is a chore.

Anyone working in this industry feeling the heat or frustration?

Thanks for letting me vent...I needed it today.

Comments

• Options
    buchatechbuchatech Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□