Options

Need some advice

fid500fid500 Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello

I am in the process of switching careers and looking for an entry level position in the IT field. I just passed my BCSI and I will be taking the BCMSN exam next month and planning on finishing CCNP by the end of May. I also have a degree in Electrical Engineering which I got in 2005. My actual job pays well but it s very boring and it s not IT or Electrical related. My ultimate goal is to work for an ISP. My problem is that I have no experience working in the field. I should mention that I do have my own lab at home and been practicing for over a year.
I was wondering if I should get the MCP certification and start with a help desk job or should I focus on getting CCNP & CCIP (planning on taking BGP exam before the end of the year). Do companies hire CCNAs or will they require me to have MCSE certification too? If so, what positions should I be applying for?
The pay is not a big concern right now and I could take a pay cut I just need to gain some experience.

So please advise.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    You have the education and the certification for you career goal, but as you said, not the experience. You'll need to focus on jobs with "Jr.", "entry-level", or "Technician I" in the description. There's always the possibility of getting lucky and finding an opportunity where you are hired based on your enthusiasm and personality more than your experience, but you can't reply on that happening.

Unless you have a friend that can give you an undeserved break into a new field, switching to a new career usually requires a down-grade in both pay and position until you build the experience and work your way back up. The best time to change you career focus is when the job market is strong and you are not in an immediate need of finding a new job. This gives you time to look for opportunities and a good change to (eventually) find them.