Options

Certification-wise, when is it best to look for a new job?

dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
I'm really burning out at my current position, but I'd like to get a few more certs under my belt before I move. Does anyone have any advice as to when would be a good time to move on?

Here's a little background: I'm going for my MCSE +Security, and I'd like to tack on a CCNA. I was doing an exam per month, but then I took two psych courses in addition to a Japanese course in addition to working full-time, so that's slowed way down. I need three more semesters of Japanese for my degree (language requirement), which I can take 2-3 nights per week. In other words, no degree until May, 2009, but it won't interfere with work. I have over two years of experience managing approximately 30 users in a 2003 server environment.

What do you all is the best time to move on:
MCSA
MCSE
MCSE +S
MCSE +S, CCNA
MCSE +S, CCNA, Degree

I'm trying to maximize my pay and position (responsibilities, opportunities to advance, etc.), and I don't want to hop around a lot because that looks bad on the 'ol resume. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Honestly, I'd wait to really put yourself out there until you finish your degree. From the sounds of it, you're working on the MCSE and the CCNA at the same time as the degree, so you'll have the whole trifecta in 2009. By that time, you'll also have four years' experience, as opposed to two, so you'll have that advantage as well. Keep an eye out for potential jobs, but I wouldn't jump ship while you're balancing out work, school, and certs at the same time. The change of pace and work responsibilities tend to derail at least one educational path, if not both. Stick with the place you're at now, unless something unique comes along, then hit that job-search as soon as you've got that degree in hand.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn