Options

please help me purchase a lab, my budget is $1000

Young GrasshopperYoung Grasshopper Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
ok so here is a little bit about myself.

im currently a junior sys admin for a company here and i would like to familiarize myself more with the networking side of things(cisco switches, routers and firewalls). every other area i am already familiar with(desktop support, building servers and raids, building racks, etc...) except for networking. i know nothing about it other than really basic stuff.

can someone recommend me some decent hardware that will fit my needs? my goal is to get ccent than ccna. the most important thing for me is something that can last me more than a year, hopefully 2. i get confused on which hardware to buy because alot of the sellers state that thier equipment supports the new IOS version that is required for the ccent and ccna exams that were recently reworked. for example, the site cisco kits recommends at least working with a 2610xm series and up, however most of thier kits use 2500 series routers and 1900 switches(which i am told are useless for the cert). ive read that 2950+ switches are recommended. i need to know what routers and switches to buy for the new test, and how many of them. please do not recommend using a router simulatior. i will use a router simulator WITH the hardware i will be getting. for the firewalls, i can just use some at work since we have pix's and asa's just lying around.

i just want to make sure i get my moneys worth when purchasing this stuff since its costing me alot.

thanks

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    This thread covers that pretty well: http://techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=28422

I'd imagine $1000 is more than enough for a CCNA lab.

I've been buying equipment bit by bit over the past year since I am going to do the CCNA after my MCSE.