Options

On my way to the Beast

rlebahrlebah Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Before I leave this forum I want to make sure I am ready. I recently passed 290 and always felt uncomfortable with the training books approach with one instance.

I was never exposed to Server until I started studying for 290 and when I started I began reading the Microsoft training kit and the problem was right before lesson one there is a note that states you will need a second computer configured as a member server.

After completing 290 I learned how to configure everything and use virtual software but I just think it would have been a lot easier if there was something that listed all the steps such as download virtual software, configure your dc as this with these settings and your a member server with these settings so they can communicate properly. My question is... are these books expecting too much from someone who is starting to learn a starter server certification? Or after passing 270 should I been able to setup the domain controller and a member server. I had a heck of a time at first I set them up but having them communicate was another story. I had to step back and learn virtual server and learn how to build a network. I just dont want to go to 291 if I missed something fundamental in 290.

Thanks to this site for all the posts. Please be BRUTALLY honest if I missed the boat PLEASE throw me a jacket!

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What was your specific setup and what training materials did you use?

I used the MS Press book. All the exercises were very detailed and built upon the previous exercises. Is this what you used as well? I'm not sure why you'd have difficulty getting the servers to communicate properly.