Options

Advice for a total newbie in the land of Cisco

dstock7337dstock7337 Member Posts: 95 ■■■□□□□□□□
Now that my n00b disclaimer is out of the way :D

After a well-deserved break from certification studying and college classes in-between - I've decided to work on obtaining the CCNA cert - possibly to lead to a CCSP (depending on how things go. I want to get out of the strict working only on servers routine that I am stuck with at my current job.

I don't have experience with any routers and switches, as my current job only has me working with windows based servers (and anything else that nobody wants to work on - like copiers).
I'm on a tight budget and so far I've gotten the new Sybex and Cisco press books for the 640-802 exam.
Since I'm pretty strapped for cash, I wanted to see if there was any really cheap sim software or equipment that anyone would recommend for me to perform lab exercises on.
I would appreciate any help/advise.

Thanks!
icon_study.gif
"The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing." - Socrates

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I would sway away from sims if possible. If you have no other choice though they are better than nothing. If you read through some of the lab threads here you will see that you can find some 2500 series routers on ebay pretty cheap. These routers are great for labs as well as the 2600 routers. As far as switches you could pick up a couple 2950s. The reaserch that goes along with finding good lab equipment is a great learning experience in its self. A decent CCNA lab can be bought prettry cheap if you search around for good prices and not buy one of those "comlete lab" deals that have old out dated switches that are no good for the CCNA. If you have any questions about specific equipment there are lots of people here willing to help.

Oh and welcome to the wonderful world of Cisco!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options