Options

Hey look, it's another What should I get for a lab thread!

EmpathyEmpathy Member Posts: 56 ■■□□□□□□□□
Yippee! Sorry folks, I have read all the sticky threads through, and I'm still not sure what to do to build a sensible CCNA lab moving forward. I'm a total Cisco newbie, so be gentle and speak slowly, please :) ...

A friend loaned me the following gear:
2620 (not XM) with one ISDN BRI wic (I don't have a console cable yet, so I haven't been able to log in and see the memory configs yet)
3512 XL switch

I've been thinking about picking up one of the dual router kits from ciscokits.com, but I want to make sure I pick something up that makes the most sense for the new exam. I'm already getting the impression that the ISN BRI port on this 2620 will offer me few benefits on the new 640-802 exam. I've also read that it the stock EPROM isn't large enough to hold 12.4.x IOS . Is this 2620 of any use to me at all?

What would you recommend to augment this setup, and get the most mileage out of it so I can pass the new CCNA/CCENT?

I have a really limited budget, unfortunately... I'd prefer not to spend more than $200 or so.

Thanks!

Oh, my long term goal is to move more into InfoSec after CCNA, so I'm fine with the realization that at this budget, I'd likely have to buy new gear down the road if I decide to go for CCSP.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'll pass along everything I've recently learned (from asking nearly identical questions) and let the pros fill in the gaps.

ISDN isn't on the test any more.

12.3.x will be adequate for the vast majority of tasks.

There is a rom upgrade for the 2620, so it can have 32mb of flash. It's not recommended for production, but can be used fairly well for home labs. This router will be of use to you even with 12.3

I'm not familiar with the switch. If it's running the obsolete CatOS, you're out of luck. You should be fine if it's a recent IOS.