Options

What's worse than not being able to find a job.....

CrunchyhippoCrunchyhippo Member Posts: 389
What's worse than not being able to find a job.....is being offered a great job, then have it rescinded because you don't pass the security check. icon_sad.gif Due to an isolated lapse of judgment I made almost 15 years ago, the security clearance didn't go through for me, though I have no criminal background, have great credit, a stable family history, and I had a great interview. They offered me double what I make now. I guess some mistakes dog you til the day you die. At least now I know to not apply for jobs which require security clearances. You'd think, though, that cleaning up your act over a period of years would rectify things. Not so. Big bummer.

Maybe this will help someone else out in some way, since a lot of networking jobs require a security clearance.
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949

Comments

• Options
    MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The security clearances I took only asked about information 7-10 years back.
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • Options
    mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749
    Bro, can I ever relate.

I have a 12 year old possession of marijuana conviction... continues to constantly hound me. I don't understand how something so unrelated to business could make such a difference. Sure, if it was fraud, embezzelment, extortion, theft... but smoking some dope?

I've found that working on contracts has greatly reduced the impact of having a record. I've worked at some great places where I would never be hired fulltime, but have had no issue being placed in a contract.

Maybe try the contract route, crunchy.

Mike
    There are only 10 kinds of people... those who understand binary, and those that don't.

CCIE Studies: Written passed: Jan 21/12 Lab Prep: Hours reading: 385. Hours labbing: 110