Options

How exactly is backup done?

binarysoulbinarysoul Member Posts: 993
I have no experience in data backup icon_sad.gif , hoping a backup guru can shed some light.

1. I know it can vary, but roughly how long it would take to backup 50 GB of data, let's say Veritas is the SW and tape dirve is an HP one? Assume tape drive and data are all in a data center (not through WAN, T1 or frame network)

2. Is it common to backup an entire server daily? If so, how do you restore a server, e.g. server blue screens and can't load to OS? Do you just copy the backed up data to the server?

3. Do you backup data/server based on IP, hostname or something you can specify?

Comments

• Options
    j938j938 Member Posts: 101
    I would also like someone to shed light on this as well with using Backup Exec? As I will have to start using it and have no idea on using although I and researching but anyone with personal exp. is also good thanks.
    Growth is limited.
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    Well, if it is 50gigs of data that it is usually a database or some other form of files.

Which should be backed up on at least some sort of incremental backup daily, depending on how fast your back system is and when you have down time, you could do a full backup daily. However that will probably not be possible at 50gigs of data.

But once you have the data backed up, you can always re-install the OS, then reload the data.

The OS re-install should be really easy. You can create system images minus the data on a daily basis. Then when the system goes BSOD, re-image, then load your data.

What I do often for *nix style systems is, backup all the config files on a daily basis. usually with a cron job, and some sort of ssh key chain encrypted backup session. If the system croaks for whatever reason, re-install the OS, then the needed apps, then the config files, presto back in bidness.