Jobs

xolibanzxolibanz Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a high school science teacher in England and would like to switch careers to IT. I just started studying for my N+ certification. Is it possible to get jobs only with that certification?? How much will i get paid??

Someone please help

Comments

• iowatechiowatech Member Posts: 120
    Yes you'll get jobs but you'll need experience in the field first. Try to do as much hands on networking, computer troubleshooting you can do. Every concept the books talk about try to replicate it via virtual PC or with spare switches,hubs,etc. on your own.

If you're just starting out in IT, it would probably be better to start with the A+ cert as it gives the proper foundation to build computer knowledge off of. Then after that you can pick up the N+ then into more advanced certifications.
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    xolibanz,

Net+ alone, won't crack the door open I am afraid to say. Iowatech is completely right about A+ as well. In spite of my complaints about Comptia in general, A+ has gained recognition with employeers world wide. Net+ has not.

How much time are you setting aside for this career shift? Generic recommendation, A+ and CCNA in one year is resonable. You also want to learn Microsoft Access inside and out along with the rest of the Office suite.

But really you need to specialize a bit more. Interested in Databases, Linux, Windows or Cisco? Those are the areas that will get you paid. Pick one and focus after you finish your CCNA and A+.

It's my understanding Europe (correct me if I am wrong) is moving toward Linux much faster than here, so a Linux focus might just get your foot in a fast growing market. And well after Linux/Windows market share has stabilized, there will always be a need for database guys.

Either way you are asking the right questions and on the right forum.

regards,
    -Daniel
  • xolibanzxolibanz Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    xolibanz wrote: