Options

70-290 without experience?

Crucio666Crucio666 Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

I've been trying to study for my 70-290 exam for the past 2 years.

I've started off with 70-270 which i found easy. For the first year at my job all i did was mostly desktop support and minor server admin work.

Right after i took my 70-270 exam i started studying for my 70-290. This was a year ago. I had very little experience in servers at this time. I didn't understand a thing i was reading and couldnt apply it to my job.

It's now 2 years later and i'm now a full blown sysadmin (same job). I'm starting to study for my 70-290 again and it makes SO MUCH MORE SENSE NOW.

I don't know how people can pass these exams without actually working/dealing with servers on a daily basis.

I find it so much more easier to study knowing i can go into work the next day, try out what i learned on my servers, check out our current setup etc and apply it to my job.

I expect to take the exam in 2 weeks, i hope it all goes well!

Comments

• Options
    gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I found that it really helps once you have some experience in what you are studying. I also found however that I can learn a lot about things I don't have experience in by studying for certifications. If I don't have the on the job experience, I usually try to compliment everything I learn in a lab then think out it would apply in our environment. Good luck in the test in a couple weeks!
  • Options
    leefdaddyleefdaddy Member Posts: 405
    I believe most people that don't have hand on professional experience usually setup a lab at home to practice with. While it isn't quite the same, you can learn plenty in a lab environment.

Good luck with the test.
    Dustin Leefers
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□